Make your own free website on



The Celts had thirteen months in their year - twelve months that roughly matched our modern calendar and one that lasted three days, leading up to Samhaine.

Their year was divided into one half of light, the other of dark. Samhaine marked the beginning of the dark half. Beltaine marked the beginning of the light. These two were fire festivals and between them came the other fire festivals, Imbolc and Lughnasadh, dividing the year into four quarters.

All four festivals were each celebrated over three days. The time between festivals was divided again by the solstices and equinoxes making an eightfold year. The fire festivals were solar (male) and the other four were lunar (female), creating an equal number of each for the year.

They also measured time by nights, rather than days.


Bird from the Book of Kells

Bird from The Book of Kells


[back to religion index]

Painting by Miranda Gray © Arthurian Tarot Pack

You will find credits and links to the generous souls who have provided the Celtic art, music, poetry and reference material free on the Web, as well as a bibliography of the books and publications that make up a large part of my library and have been a rich resource for these pages in the Credits list.

| outer hearth | anteroom | high court | ceridwen's well | forest of rites |
| inner hearth | ealasaid's realm | trophy room | eternal circles | portal |
| the book of dreams | the messenger |